About Tusayan Ruin
On the south rim of the Grand Canyon, just a mile from the edge of the cliffs, sits the ruins of a prehistoric Indian community. Archeologists place its habitation at about 1185 A.D, by the people of the Kayenta Anasazi tribe. The ruin was excavated in 1930 by Harold S. Gladwin and the staff of the Gila Pueblo of Globe, Arizona. They gave it the name Tusayan, a name of unknown origin.
Today a brief hike gives a tour of the site, with many interpretive markers explaining its history, and a museum depicts the way of life of these ancient people, as we understand it.
Stone foundations remain in the outline of the buildings, the walls and roofs having collapsed previous to its discovery. The site is surrounded by a forest of junipers. It is one of the most heavily visited archeological sites in the National Park System.
For More Information:
See also the Tusayan Ruin article in Wikipedia.
Tusayan Museum Road